Cream Cheese and Pesto Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Hey readers, thanks for sticking by me after last week’s trying kitchen disaster. It was a really tough time for me; I’m sure you can imagine. I mean, every time I looked in the refrigerator, that barely used, broken container  of pesto just sat there, staring at me. (I got really upset after the recipe didn’t turn out right. Just kidding. I totally dropped it. I’m a walking accident in the kitchen.)

I couldn’t take the agonizing reminder anymore. I really couldn’t. Plus the expiration date was coming up. So, I scoured my cookbooks and the internet for a great (foolproof) recipe to use up some more of my pesto and fell in love with this chicken recipe.

Yumminess exploded in my mouth with each bite. And, I got to use those chicken butterflying skills I’ve been working so hard on. Go me.

Cream Cheese and Pesto Stuffed Chicken Breasts

The Ingredients: 

  • 2 tbs. cream cheese
  • 1 tbs. pesto
  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves
  • 1 egg white
  • ½ cup plain, dry breadcrumbs
  • 2 tsp. extra virgin olive oil

The Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Coat a rimmed baking sheet with cooking spray. Combine cream cheese and pesto in a small bowl. Like my spoon mixer? Super handy.

Butterfly each chicken breast; don’t completely separate the halves. I hope you’ve been practicing. If not, shame on you, but I forgive you. Watch this video.

Open up each chicken breast and place a quarter of the cream cheese-pesto mixture in the center.

Close the breast back up and press the edges together to seal. I sincerely apologize for this creepy picture of my fingers. I promise they are attached to my hands and look way better in real life.

Beat the egg white in a bowl and spread the bread crumbs out on a plate.

Holding the edges together, dip each breast in the egg white and then coat it with bread crumbs.

Heat the oil in a skillet on medium-high heat. Add the chicken breasts and cook until brown on one side.

Place the chicken (with the browned side up) on the baking sheet. Bake in the oven about 20 minutes or until no longer pink inside.

Add some veggies to your plate, ‘cause Mom and Dad said they’re good for you, and dig in!

The Break-Down:

Do not be intimidated by the many directions; this recipe is surprisingly easy. The cream cheese-pesto filling makes the chicken extra moist and super fun to cut in to. Everyone likes a surprise in the middle of their food! Well, most of the time.

Total Time:

33 minutes (Not 30 minutes. Not 35 minutes. Just 33 minutes.)

Total Cost:

$1.40 per chicken breast

Recipe adapted from Delish.com.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

