Egg with Potato, Pepper, and Onion Medley

Breakfast is by far my favorite meal of the day. Therefore, I don’t just eat it in the morning. That would be too normal. I’m definitely not normal.

Breakfast dishes have been known to make their way onto my plate for a lunch meal, for a dinner meal, for a midnight snack, for a midday pick-me-up, for a yay-I-totally-aced-my-journalism-quiz treat. Dare me to continue?

So, as I stared into the refrigerator one lazy evening, ready to resign to a PB&J, I saw the eggs. “Anything goes with eggs,” the box read.

So true, I thought, cocking my head to the side. So true. That’s when I saw the potatoes, the mesh bag of colorful potatoes that had been sitting atop my fridge for at least two weeks, waiting for its chance to be picked as the day’s big food star. Well, that time had come. And so had my genius idea. Breakfast for dinner. Forget the PB&J. What am I, five years old? Ok, I admit I still totally eat PB&J’s. Don’t tell.

And so it happened. A beautiful fall medley of colors right on my plate. Red, purple, and yellow potatoes. Orange bell peppers. White onions, almost translucent. And two eggs, over-easy. Hello gorgeous.

Egg with Potato, Pepper, and Onion Medley

The Ingredients: 

  • 3 small potatoes or 1 large potato
  • ¾ bell pepper
  • ¼ white onion
  • 2 eggs
  • Salt and pepper
  • Shredded cheddar cheese (optional)
  • 1 tsp. butter

The Directions:

It’s a potato party! Say hello to Red Randolph, Purple Penelope, and Yellow Yolanda. They’ll be the stars of the meal.

Grab the uncooked potatoes and rinse ‘em, scrub ‘em, and chop ‘em. Then admire. Pretty colors never cease to distract amaze me.

Throw the chopped potatoes in a bowl. Microwave for 5 minutes.

Coarsely chop the onion and pepper, spread them out in a large skillet and drizzle oil over them. Sauté for 3 minutes.

Add the potatoes to the skillet and sauté them with the pepper and onion for another 3 minutes.

Place everything in a bowl.

Melt butter in a small pan. Crack eggs into the pan.

Turn around to grab a spatula (you forgot to get one before, naturally) and encounter your roommate’s AMAZING chili bowl lined with blue tortilla chips. Stop to wish you liked chili so you could make something that cool. Suddenly remember that you have an egg cooking and get back to it.

Layer eggs over potato, pepper, and onion medley. Season with salt and pepper. Sprinkle cheese over everything if desired.

The Break-Down:

This meal is classic comfort food in my mind, whether you eat it on Sunday morning of Wednesday night. I actually adapted the recipe from my dad. He chops the potatoes, peppers, and onions and then bakes them in the oven for 20 minutes. This way seems easier to me, but the taste exactly the same.

Total Time:

20 minutes

Total Cost:

$2.75 per serving (This only makes one serving. If you aren’t super hungry you’ll have some leftover potato medley that you can eat the next morning!)

Recipe adapted from…my dad.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Egg with Potato, Pepper, and Onion Medley

  1. Shannon Mitchner says:

    This blog is fantastic! I have a similar blog that discusses healthy eating habits and recipes, but I love how you take pictures step by step of your cooking and leave witty comments along the way. Very intriguing. Keep up the good work!

  2. This blog is awesome. I am definitely going to check it out when I need ideas of what to make when I am hungry. This egg dish sounds delicious!

  3. foodude411 says:

    I love how you integrate story telling into your recipes and how you take pictures step-by-step. Really great blog and really delicious looking post!

  4. Nichole Naoum says:

    I really like the way you began your post, relating it to yourself and what you like. Your directions are easy to follow and your dishes sound pretty incredible. And I like how you included the prices as well. Good use of images. Great job!

  5. This looks absolutely delicious! Love your tone, too-makes it fun to read. =] Keep ’em coming.

Leave a Reply

