Caramelized Asian Pork Chops

When I was little I was the definition of a picky eater. To the contrary, my younger brother ate anything, everything. My parents used to joke that the five foods I liked were the five foods he didn’t, causing many a dilemma during dinnertime. There may or may not have been a few bites fed to dogs, dumped in the garbage, thrown down the disposal, the usual techniques in which we picky eaters are well versed.

Meat was a particularly sore spot. When I ate it, which was rare, it was quite possibly in the form of a chicken nugget or corn dog. Classy, I know. While I’ll still choose a pasta or salad dish over a hunk of meat any day, I am slowly morphing into a carnivore. I can almost hear my parents cheering in the background.

These pork chops defy everything I hate about meat. They aren’t dry and bland, but instead juicy and flavorful. They aren’t thick and chewy slabs, they’re thin and tender. And, on a completely unrelated note, the word caramel is in the name. Sold yet?

Caramelized Asian Pork Chops

The Ingredients: 

  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbs. soy sauce
  • 1 tbs. sugar
  • 1½ tbs. vegetable oil
  • 4 thin pork rib chops           
  • Rice (type/amount of your choosing)
  • Vegetable (type/amount of your choosing)

The Directions:

Whisk together garlic, soy sauce, sugar, and ½ tbs. oil to make a marinade.

Cut the fat off each of the pork chops if there is any.

Line a rimmed baking sheet with foil and place the pork chops on it, side by side.

Pour the marinade evenly over the pork chops. Turn to coat the chops. Let stand for about 15 minutes.

Put your multitasking hat on and get ready to work. This is the really tough part. Cook a serving of rice and vegetables according to the directions on the package.

Heat the remaining 1 tbs. of oil in a pan. Cook the pork chops about 3 minutes on each side.

Layer the pork and you’re vegetable over the rice and drizzle any leftover sauce in the pan over everything. Chow down!

The Break-Down:

The pork chops had an amazing sweet and salty taste due to the marinade. Plus, I definitely felt like a big girl making a meal that involved a marinade. Go grown-up meals! As I mentioned, it’s up to you what type of rice and vegetable you want to use. I chose Boil-in-Bag brown rice and steamed some frozen, chopped broccoli. One thing I would have changed was to double the ingredients for the marinade. By doing that, there would be a good amount of extra sauce to mix with the rice and vegetable.

Total Time:

30 minutes (Includes marinating time.)

Total Cost:

$1.91 per serving (This cost is record-breakingly low. Let’s pause for a collective rejoice from college students across the world.)

P.s. Making this meal for more than just yourself? Watch this video below for tips on how to marinate large amounts of meat.

Recipe adapted from Delish.com

This entry was posted in Asian, Pork and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Caramelized Asian Pork Chops

  1. CAROLINA says:

    I read this in the middle of the night last night. I almost ate my arm. Looks so yummy!

  2. jaclynacree says:

    These look really really good. I might have to try them. Love the way you add a story to the recipe and not just give a recipe!

  3. carlhensley says:

    Im so making this when I get home…or next time I have pork chops a my house.

  4. Pingback: Friday’s Fun Food Fact: Milk with Dinner | The College Gal's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

