Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

I’m not quite sure what possessed me to make these muffins when I first saw the recipe. Was it my complete aversion to the smell of canned pumpkin? My dodging of pumpkin pie every Thanksgiving since I can remember, despite my family’s protests? No. No, I don’t think so.

Maybe it was the adorable way they were photographed and discussed on the blog that I first saw them? Or the way they make it seem like fall is finally here, despite the unbelievably fickle weather we’ve been experiencing as of late. Yes. Yes, I think that was probably it.

Let me tell you, to whatever prompted me to make the decision, I’ll be forever grateful. These muffins are the ideal treat for breakfast. Or lunch. Or dinner. Or breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Your secret is safe with me.

Though I thought I hated pumpkin (and I still kind of do in any other recipe), these muffins made me change my mind. The slight sprinkle of cinnamon sugar and just-right amount of chocolate chips takes away the usually overpowering taste of pumpkin and leaves you with a perfect, barely noticeable hint to please your palate.

So pumpkin-lovers and pumpkin-haters alike, let us come together over the glorious goodness of these spectacular muffins.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

Makes 12 muffins

The Ingredients: 

  • 1 ½ cups all-purpose flour       
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 cup solid-pack pumpkin (8 oz.)
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice OR ½ tsp. cinnamon, ¼ tsp. nutmeg, and ¼ tsp. allspice
  • 1 ¼ cups (plus one tbs.) sugar
  • ½ tsp. baking soda
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • ½ cup chocolate chips (Optional, if you must.)

The Directions:

Whisk together pumpkin, oil, pumpkin pie spice(s), 1 ¼ cups sugar, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl until smooth. Then, whisk in flour and baking powder until just combined.

Stir in chocolate chips.

Divide batter evenly among lined muffin cups, each should be about ¾ full.

Lick the bowl. C’mon, you know you want to. It’s sooo yummy.

Stir together cinnamon and remaining 1 tbs. sugar in a small bowl. Sprinkle the tops of the muffins with the mixture.

Bake 25 minutes, or until puffed and golden-brown and a wooden pick inserted into the top of the muffin comes out clean. Cool in pan for 5 minutes, then transfer to a rack until room temperature.

Devour and enjoy!

The Break-Down:

Though I’m learning to enjoy cooking more and more (funny how we like things more as we get better at them), my real love will always be baking. These muffins were extremely easy to make and dirtied very few dishes. If you hail from Crazy Town and don’t like chocolate chips, just leave them out. Don’t tell me, just do it. If you want to make these jumbo size, because sometimes a regular size muffin just isn’t enough, bake for 20 minutes instead of 25, checking frequently. It will make about 8-9 muffins.

Total Time:

40 minutes (Includes baking and cleaning time. How spiffy.)

Total Cost:

About 60 cents per muffin (Take that Starbucks, and your incredibly overpriced muffins.)

P.s. If you’re looking to get extra, super, fancy and creative, you can puree your own pumpkin instead of buying it canned. Ooo la la. Do you dare? Watch this video for a how-to.

Recipe adapted from Cupcakes and Cashmere, originally from Letters, Gourmet, November 2006 Adapted from the American club, in Kohler, Wisconsin

This entry was posted in Desserts, Muffins and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

  1. Chaos says:

    ok YUM!!! i’ve been looking for a pumpkin bread/muffin recipe for the past week on foodnetwork, and you just sold me on this one 🙂 thanks!

  2. Chardonnay says:

    Your pictures are the best part, though I did. Just looking at your them makes me want to cook. I don’t even have to read about it.

    I’m not a big fan of pumpkin, but I am tempted to try it.

  3. Leah says:

    ahhhh I want some!!! that looks extremely delicious!! perfect time of year to post this! I’m a pumpkin lover and I’ve never seen it with chocolate chips! I think I’m gonna try making these for my Halloween party! thank you for the idea! I’ll go to this blog more often so I can try cooking more often!

Leave a Reply

