Quesadilla Casserole

Welcome to this week’s installment of “It Looks Disgusting but Tastes Delicious” starring the one and only, Quesadilla Casserole. As I’ve mentioned before, I am a bit of a perfectionist. Food included, I like every project I complete to be beautiful as well as serve its intended purpose. I mean, I was the second grader who stayed up past her bedtime not to watch one more episode of Rugrats, but to refine her “About Me” poster for class: no glue showing, perfectly aligned pictures, you get the point. So, when it comes to the recipes I take on, I want them to be tasty, but for the sake of my sanity and this blog I need them to look and photograph attractively. Well, I’m sad to say I only hit one out of two goals with this casserole consisting of layer upon layer of deliciousness.

I’m really not sure that there was any way to make this meal look appealing. (If you find one, let me know.) Nevertheless, my perfectionism was satiated by the adorably well-organized and detailed McCormick Recipe Inspirations that housed the necessary spices and recipe for this meal.

Quesadilla Casserole

The Ingredients (Package includes):

  • 2 tsp. chili powder
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1 tsp. minced garlic
  • ½ tsp. oregano leaves
  • ½ tsp. crushed red pepper (optional)

The Ingredients (What you’ll need):

  • 1 lb. ground beef
  • ½ cup chopped onion
  • ½ cup chopped bell pepper
  • 2 cans (8 oz.) tomato sauce
  • 1 can (8 ¾ oz.) whole kernel corn, undrained
  • 1 can (4 ½ oz.) chopped green chiles, undrained
  • 6 flour tortillas (8-inch)
  • 2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese

The Directions:

Brown beef, onion, and bell pepper in a large skillet on medium-high heat; drain.

Add tomato sauce, corn, and green chiles. Mix well.

Stir in all of the spices except red pepper. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low; simmer 5 minutes. Add red pepper to taste, if desired.

Spread 1/3 of the beef mixture on the bottom of a 13x9x2 baking dish sprayed with non-stick cooking spray.

Top with 3 of the tortillas, overlapping as needed.

Layer ½ of the Cheddar cheese on top of the tortillas.

Continue the layering process as follows, until done. 1/3 beef mixture, 3 tortillas, 1/3 beef mixture, ½ Cheddar cheese. Bake in 350°F oven for 15 minutes or until heated through. Let stand 5 minutes before serving.

See? Looks disgusting, but trust me, tastes delicious.

The Break-Down:

This was one of the easiest meals I’ve ever made. As mentioned above, the recipe was included on the back of McCormick’s latest invention: McCormick Recipe Inspirations. My lovely mother sent this to me when I moved back into my apartment after the summer and I’m so glad I finally got around to making it. The original recipe included beans, one of the foods that I absolutely abhor and will not even touch in a meal. And look how well Mommy knows me; she noted on the recipe that I could leave the beans out. How nice.

Instead, I substituted ½ cup of chopped bell peppers. They were fabulous and added a delightful crunch to the casserole. Now, the McCormick layering instructions get completely confusing. I improvised and it turned out awesome. Let’s just pretend my way was the intended way.

The best part about the McCormick Recipe Inspirations is the individually packaged spices in just the amounts you need for the recipe. Let’s face it, no college student has a complete spice assortment and it is a pain to go out and buy a huge bottle for a recipe in which you need one teaspoon. With this, you are given just what you need for under three bucks. Perfect!

Total Time:

30 minutes (From pulling ingredients out of the fridge to putting that first bite into your mouth. So fast and easy.)

Total Cost:

$2.75 per serving (This makes 8 huge servings! Split it with your roommates, cook it for a family dinner, or individually wrap the leftovers and freeze them for a quick, lazy meal.)

Recipe adapted from McCormick Recipe Inspirations.

This entry was posted in Beef, Mexican and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quesadilla Casserole

  1. Chardonnay says:

    To be honest, it doesn’t look digusting!
    But it sure sounds delicious!

    Thanks for the recipe!
    I’m curious to read more.

Leave a Reply

